Tags

,

Wow.

It’s been FIVE months since I’ve written a blog post. It doesn’t seem like that much time has passed, it really has flown by! Life has been chaotic, things keep happening and trying to hold up momentum for most things has been pretty much set to low. Today however, is a special day in my calendar and by it’s meaning, what better time to restart my passion for the written word and getting my blog back up and running.

As today marks the Winter Solstice here in Australia, which is the shortest day of the year and the longest night, it has the symbolism of new beginnings; as the days going forward will start to get longer and the sun makes its way back to us. I usually celebrate this day the same every year – having a bad back and being stuck in bed, having an animal to cuddle while in bed, eating a tub of ice cream (ice cream to me just tastes so much better in Winter!) and finding things to be grateful for.

I really do have a lot of things to be grateful for.  A wonderful partner, wonderful family and friends, two of the most amazing cats that grace us with their love, a job I enjoy, a career I enjoy, having the ability to do the things I love and the time and freedom to follow those dreams and passions. As my life never used to be like this up until a couple of years ago, I become more and more grateful the longer I get to live the life I choose. Sure, I get stressed to the point of insomnia and my hip and back make me feel like I’m 90 instead of 30, but that’s fleeting in the grand scheme of things. 5 months ago my back was okay and in 5 months time it will be back to being okay. For the last 5 months I’ve been stressed about my academic life, and now within the last few days it’s all started to realign itself again.

Things happen for a reason, for a season, for a time. It doesn’t mean it’s going to last forever – that’s our choice to make. The sun and moon will keep doing their dance and so shall I, with gratitude and some damn good ice cream.

Thank you for sticking with me so far on my journey and I can’t wait to keep sharing it with you going forward.

Blessed Be.

Constance x

 

 

