Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I was younger, I used to be involved in everything- Swimming, Scouts, Girl Guides, Little Athletics, Martial Arts. However, for as long as I can remember, I always struggled with my weight and back.

I found out when I was 16 that I had PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) and it made sense; my periods were a nightmare, nothing I did would make me lose weight and I was at a high risk of forming type 2 Diabetes. During this time, my back also got progressively worse, where I’d have weeks off school, unable to move.

Then, when I was 21, my life changed. Somehow, I had broken my L4-L5 spinal disc. This time of my life is a story in itself, that I won’t get into here, but suffice to say, if I hadn’t had spinal surgery when I did, I wouldn’t be sitting here today. The most important part is that I did have the surgery, and my life changed for the better.

I dropped from 130kg down to 95kg. I was moving in ways that I hadn’t been able to do since I was a kid, and finally, as an adult, I found a renewed sense of appreciation when it came to exercise.

In the time from then to now, many gyms have come and gone, but the one thing that has stayed consistent, is Yoga.

I LOVE YOGA.

I used to be so scared that I couldn’t do it, because of my back, because I was too big, too uncomfortable in my own body and skin, but you know what, don’t ever let any of those things hold you back. Yoga has, in all sincerity, changed my life.

These days, I work with a yoga mat, two dumbbells and my own body, and while I’ve put on weight since I was 23, I’m fitter, stronger and feel better than I have in my entire life. I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone and everyone, no matter your size, gender, age or fitness level, Yoga will work for you.


Namaste.

Constance xxx

 

