Tags

, , , , ,

Hello and welcome! My name is Constance and this is my new blog.

I am a 30-year-old Greek woman, living on the beautiful South Coast of New South Wales, Australia, with my gorgeous partner and our two cat furbabies.

I worked in the Finance Industry for 10 years, as a Financial Planner, Business Development Consultant and a Trainer. During those 1o years, I was constantly unhappy. I knew I was in a career that I didn’t want, but I had no idea where to go, how to change my life, how to take that leap.

One of the major aspects that kept holding me back, was the fact that I was always sick. I had to have spinal surgery when I was 23, I nearly bled to death after having my tonsils taken out when I was 25, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease when I was 26 and I struggled with my weight – while this has been a lifelong struggle, I hit my peak weight of 130kg during this decade.

So, I basically worked to live, for those 10 years. Every accumulated holiday leave, was used for surgeries. I formed a pretty severe drinking habit, was living paycheck to paycheck, with any savings I’d manage to stick to, going straight on medical bills. I would constantly shop, constantly look for instant gratification, just so I could feel some fleeting form of happiness. Of course, I never really found it.

One day, in 2015, I woke up with a clarity that I hadn’t had before. This was it, I knew that I couldn’t keep living like this anymore. I was 28 and had spent 10 years of my life in this career that I had grown to hate, not because it was a bad career, but that it just was not fundamentally me. I had never planned to be doing it for so long, and I could not let time keep getting away from me.

So, I sat down, and I thought about it. What did I love? What was my passion in life? I was passionate about helping people, which I was already doing, but the key aspect though, was my lack of passion for the industry I was in. I was not happy; I was fucking miserable.

Another thing that I had always been passionate about, ever since I was a little girl, was all things Beauty. Hair, Makeup, having fantastic eyebrows (trust me, all Greek women spend A LOT of time dealing with their eyebrows) and generally taking care of oneself.

Then, the light-bulb turned on. THAT WAS IT! I knew what I had to do.

I was becoming a Beauty Therapist and Makeup Artist.

Funnily enough, it really was that quick. In a span of 2 weeks, I found a college, applied and was enrolled, gave my job a month’s notice and that was it! I was on my way.

I saw my 29th birthday as a full-time Beauty student. Honestly, I was terrified. What was I doing at this age, quitting a well-paying job, with the health issues I had, basically starting again. It was madness!

I tell you what though, it was the best decision I ever made.  I have been in remission for 2 years now with my Crohn’s Disease. I am a qualified Beauty Therapist and love my new career. I am a Makeup Artist and am working on further studies in that field, to be able to do some amazing things. It will be 4 years this year that I’ve been with my partner and I am now freaking 30 years old!

So, where does Minimalism fall into all of this? Well…

A few years ago, I really started looking into the Minimalism culture that was starting to gain momentum. Could people really be that happy, without an abundance of stuff?? The concept appealed to me, but I could never seem to put it into practice. To me, all my stuff is what made me happy, and I needed all the happiness I could get. The more clothes and shoes I had, the more bags and books and makeup and THINGS and STUFF and whatever money could buy me, that was giving me happiness… right?

There’s nothing quite like, having a defining moment happen in your life. I feel pretty blessed, to have had two major ones happen to me. One, was changing my career, and the other, was realising what I had to do to change my life.

I don’t need all this stuff. All these materialistic things, that quantity over quality that I was living for most of my life. The balance was all wrong, it has to be quality over quantity, and while I knew it, I didn’t really know it.

Until it hit me.

So, basically, this is my journey to achieve a minimalist lifestyle, that incorporates Beauty, Health, Well-being and all things in between.

It’s a process, like all things in life, and I for one am so excited to be able to share this journey with you all.

Thanks for taking the time to get to know me and please shoot though your thoughts and comments.

Constance xxx

 

